2010 Pregnancy updates 258787
married momof3 resident2008 240701
illegal immigration and impact on medical field 229512
Affirmative action debate FINALLY invades Mommd 188492
Don't Quit This Day Job -- NYT op-ed 158917
Managing debt out of residency 148084
The "applying to med school this year" support thread 143121
Who's Online
1 registered (niash), 265 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 23 of 31 < 1 2 ... 21 22 23 24 25 ... 30 31 >
Topic Options
#56722 - 11/05/06 12:22 AM Re: MomMD Member Mosaic - Introductions and Reintroductions!!
Lagniappe Offline

Greetings, everyone!

I'm 34, have been married for 12 years, have two children (ages 9 & 6), and have been a pharmacist for 11 years. I'm a pharmacist by default: I always planned on being an MD but bowed to family pressure and didn't go pre-med in college ("You need to get a degree in a field you can actually WORK in, just in case you don't get into med school"). Of course, after going to college year-round for five years, working, and planning a wedding, I was burned out and exhausted by the time I graduated, so I convinced myself I could be happy being a pharmacist and never even bothered taking the MCAT. Fast forward 11 years. I have a supportive husband, wonderful kids, and a great job that depresses me every day because it is unfulfilling. I'm tired of trying to will myself into contentment as a pharmacist - I have a lot of working years ahead of me, so I've finally made the decision to do what I should have done a very long time ago and am applying to medical school for 2008.

I'm looking forward to getting to know y'all!

#56723 - 11/28/06 04:08 PM Re: MomMD Member Mosaic - Introductions and Reintroductions!!
healing hands Offline

Loc: tampa