2010 Pregnancy updates 240268
married momof3 resident2008 225652
illegal immigration and impact on medical field 212687
Affirmative action debate FINALLY invades Mommd 173432
Nanny/AuPair 101 153531
Kids say the cutest/funniest things 149643
Don't Quit This Day Job -- NYT op-ed 143571
Who's Online
4 registered (becco, justperusing, sahmd, suncouch), 482 Guests and 1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#78769 - 03/20/11 11:25 AM cord blood banking
livana Offline

Hi,
I was writing to ask what all of you doctor mom's think of banking cord blood. I did not bank it for my 2 daughters, partly because I was a resident who had been out of work for months prior to their birth, and partly because most people I talked to did not think it was very important.

For some reason now I feel anxious and regretful, and wish I had worked out a way to do it. Looking for your thought.
Thank you!

#78771 - 03/20/11 11:46 AM Re: cord blood banking [Re: livana]
sahmd Online   content
Super Elite Member

I also wanted to do it, but my OB said that it would not be worthwhile, so I did not do it. I do wonder about it sometimes, though.

#78772 - 03/20/11 01:38 PM Re: cord blood banking [Re: sahmd]
southernmd Offline
Super Elite Member

I did not do it, as we don't have any history of anything that would have required it in my family. I wanted to - we read about it, and then we talked to all the moms and dads that we respect and think do a great job, and they did not do it. I trusted their judgement and still do, but if I were independently wealthy - I would have done it in a heartbeat. It was a tough decision.

#78774 - 03/20/11 01:53 PM Re: cord blood banking [Re: southernmd]
scrubbedin Offline

I didnt do private cord blood banking, but I did donate our son's cord blood to a public bank. I'm told by the public bank that if he ever needed it and it was still available, he could get his own. This was free.