One in a million chance or is this it..my story

More
9 years 4 weeks ago #75789 by ventil8
Hi,

I am a 37 yo woman. I have a 10 yo daughter. I have decided to pursue my desire and go to medical school. First a little about my background.

I graduated from college in 1998 with a Bachelor of Science in Biology. I worked a full-time and part-time job. Well let me backtrack. I started school in 1992 in Fl. (i am from Al), transferred back to Al in another city then came back to my original city to stay with my grandmother. In the summer of 93 I was raped in my[size:8pt][/size] dorm rm by my boyfriend's best friend. I never reported it, too ashamed. (My ex and I were having problems and he was trying to mediate between us; or so I thought) Consequently, my grades dropped and I ended up dropping out by the summer of 94. I decided to finish my education so I enrolled in another local college and finished. While there I was selected to be a NASA/JOVE scholar which required me to do research and present in Pasadena @ the Jet Propulsion laboratory at a confernce. I was a founding member of a professional organization on my campus for Blk chemist and chemical engineers and I also served as president my last year. I worked fulltime, took care of my granny; she had dementia, ran for and won title of Miss Homecoming and tried my hardest to redeem my GPA. I had dropped out without withdrawing and had garnered some F's. I managed to grad with a 3.15 gpa and I think a 3.3 or 3.4 in science. I did take the mcat back then but forgot my score. I got pregnant a year after graduation so I put my dreams onhold and got a job. No I was not nor am I married. I procured a decent job as a chemical lab technician in a steel plant and worked there for 6 yrs. Decided I hated it and went back to school.