Feeling trapped

More
6 years 5 months ago #89417 by siunam
Never thought that I'm the kind to blog, but really have nowhere else to vent. So here it goes.

I'm an intern, and it sucks being an intern, regardless of the specialty or the program. Hours are long (and I know that it used to be longer) and there is so much to learn and read about after I get home. I'm chronically sleep-deprived and stressed (who isn't). To add to all this, I still can't get pregnant after 28 months ttc. The intern/resident lifestyle is really hurting my chance of getting pregnant. After a year of acupuncture and herbs with no luck, I finally saw a RE 2 months ago. It was promising at the initial consult when he was very sympathetic about my inflexible schedule and he said he was willing to work with me. Now that I've started getting the work up, that willingness is nowhere to be found. I don't want to talk to my PD about getting time off for RE appt. If anything, it is of their interest to make sure that I can't get pregnant so they won't have to accommodate yet another pregnant resident. I can't quit now when I'm more than half way through the toughest year. Also, it's not like if I quit and have time to sleep and exercise then magically I'll be pregnant. Incidentally my employer's health plan actually has amazing coverage for infertility, so it'll be a double whammy financially if I quit. But at the same time, if I can't get to the RE appts, what good is the coverage?