× Debates, Issues & Talk

PREMED STUDENT-25 yr old- family planning worries

More
3 years 4 months ago - 3 years 4 months ago #95932 by Amee
Dear All Lady Doctors/ Students,

Please help me I am going through depression and anxiety and finding it extremely difficult to make decision.

I am graduate in Pharmacy (pre-primary +10 +2 + 4 years education) from INDIA. I have been working since 2-3 years but I am not satisfied with my job. I really wish to pursue my dream of being doctor. With respect to studies and scores , I am above average student with 7.5-8.0 GPA out of 10. So I know, if I study hard I will be able to reach my goals.

But I have been feared by my parents, relatives & boyfriend about my age & child bearing age deadlines. I am really worried.

pl help me - if I start my medicine/ dental school at age of 26 - I wont be finishing it before 31 years of age. studying till age of 31 - being dependent financially - not being birth to baby are few of the worries which are holding me back ; which are quite practical too as I love kids . My very inspiration behind being a doctor is to be a Pediatrician. what do you suggest ? Can I plan for baby during my medical school ? please reply me as I have some important decisions to make. Can a woman go to medical school & attend lectures & give exams during her 3 rd trimester ? how much break she requires after delivery. Because in India, you don't get break / vacations of more than one month when you are in med school. I am really worried.

There is a course of Master in pharmacy - in pharmacology whose registration ends this Wednesday. So I will have to make choice. Choosing master in pharmacy will restrict me only wrt research & handling GCP, medical regulatory affairs. But Being doctor will help me in using my knowledge to treat patients & for public welfare & i will be happiest if I chose to be DOCTOR.

Only few of these worries is creating me lots of dilemma & anxiety.

Looking to hear from all of you,