× Debates, Issues & Talk

The doctor nurse relationships and perceptions

More
14 years 7 months ago #65824 by PremedRN
I started this thread off of another topic, so hey docs, nurses, and all others, what do you perceive what a nurse does.....what a doc does....similarities, differences, and why, sometimes, is there animosity between those 2 positions?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 7 months ago #65825 by **DONOTDELETE**
I am an intern in internal medicine. I perceive doctors as the "order-givers" and nurses as the "order-doers." I don't understand what requires such "critical thinking" with regard to nursing duties. Doesn't the nurse just do what they're told?

Please educate me.

More
14 years 7 months ago #65826 by PremedRN
Im glad you responded, and wasnt afraid to say what you really think.
Yes, it is true that the docs/residents order medical interventions and the nurse carries them out but oh yeah, nurses have to critically think, let see, what would be good examples.....
1st off, education wise, nurses have to take anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology,pharmacology,microbiology, know what and generally why medical interventions are being ordered, it goes more in depth as far as pt diagnoses and what's involved in the patients care, we have to know signs an symptoms of medical things, educate patients to watch out for such signs, and what preventions they can do to sustain good health. Did you know that if you ordered the wrong doseage of meds, and the nurse gives it, he or she is responsible for it by law? I have to know I am giving a correct dose, and if you order anything I think will harm the patient I dont have to go along with your order?