× Debates, Issues & Talk

Physician arrested

More
15 years 2 months ago #65957 by JDmom
I'm a lawyer (please, hold the tomatoes, I don't do medical malpractice) doing my pre-med classes right now, and as someone who works in the field of civil rights violations I can tell you I see this sort of thing all the time.

Most law enforcement officers are well-intentioned, brave and proffessional, I'm sure, but when you get the wrong kind of personality with that badge it is amazing the arrogance and lawlessness it can produce.

Legally, the doctor would not have any way to demand a public reprimand, but (s)he certainly could (and I imagine will) file a federal civil rights law suit against the officer. They are very hard to win, but if the officer violated clearly established constitutional law (which he certainly did), then he can be held accountable. If the doctor can show that the police department improperly trained the officer, and had a pattern and practice of improper training, the the doctor could sue the police department as well.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 years 1 month ago #65958 by delchrys
why wouldn't the officer's arrest of the physician, ridiculous as it was, fall under the "discretionary function" exemption of state officials for tort suits?

i'm not asking to be argumentative, just curious, since you work in civil rights (i am a soon-to-be-graduating law student who DOES do med mal...defense).

More
15 years 1 month ago #65959 by bjg
I volunteered in an ER for more than 2 yrs, and I saw several problem blood draws related to criminal activity.

The main theme, however, seemed to be nurses who were (rightly so) unwilling to draw blood out of an argumentative/unwilling pt.

The system (docs, cops, no hassle from administration) seemed to agree that the nurse had the right to protect herself, and that if it was too dangerous, then no blood draw.