× Family & Parenting

Single Mom and Medical School

More
9 years 3 months ago #74975 by summy2886
So I have some questions because my baby is almost due and I am starting to freak out about school...typical I suppose.

I am 23 and will be in medical school in two years. I am an excellent student and have always worked through it, but I know that with medschool that I will be surviving on loans because there is no way I will be able to take care of her and do school right.

I guess what I am wondering is if there are any women out there that did medical school while having a young child in their tote...and single(long story). I know that daycare is available during the hours of school, but I worry that I will not give her the attnetion that she needs...due to studying and what-have-you.... and then residency.

I know that I can do this on my own because I have done my whole adult life on my own, but I am looking at medical schools that are not near family or friends, so doing the juggling act with be a long one.

I would appreaciate advice, tips...anything really helps. Maybe assurance that it can be done because my mind is SO preoccupied with what's going to happen when I ave to pull a 36 hour shift or night calls....

Thanks.

Summer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 3 months ago #75051 by studentmamasf
I have the same concerns. My daughter is in preschool now and by the time I begin medical school she will be in elementry. I worry about it because I am a single mom, and have been on my own since I was about sixteen.

We can do it. :) Just find a great caregiver for your daughter and you will be just fine.

More
9 years 3 months ago #75203 by emmd2012
I know this girl who had twins right at the end of undergrad. She sat out a year before starting med school as a single mom. Superwoman!

More
9 years 2 months ago #75215 by residentmom