× Family & Parenting

Mother-In-Law crushing my dream..

More
7 years 2 weeks ago #87353 by megboo

lyn2006 wrote: Yep, you will miss lots of important things when working 80 hrs/week. It all depends if you are ok with that! I'd say it might be easier to make the decision since you already have a kid - a lot of us went into medicine without kids and realized our career plans changed a bit when we had kids. But by then typically you have so much debt that deciding to not be a physician is not really an option.

I love my job (I'm an anesthesia resident) but there are days, like the last couple of days, that were draining. They were long, I had really really sick patients to manage, and was on my feet for 12+ hours working. Those are the days I feel deprived of time with my kids. I just came home and sat with them on the floor until they went to bed... It can be hard.

This is what I do on my long days too! Sometimes it makes me feel better knowing my face is the last the little guy sees at the end of the day, even if I was gone for the rest of it.

"Some of it's magic and some of it's tragic but I had a good life all the way."<br />- He Went to Paris by Jimmy Buffett

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 2 weeks ago #87354 by southernmd
I worked from 4:15 am to 6:30 ish pm five days a week on my Sub I in the STICU. Many days on that rotation I came home, collapsed into a chair, cuddled with my kid as Sesame Street talked to us, and I was absolutely exhausted. You do what you can, but my kid always knew what it felt to cuddle with mom or read books with mom at the end of a busy day. Busy = exhausted, but it does not equal bad mothering. I always have enough energy to love my son.

More
7 years 2 weeks ago #87358 by CMR

asunshine wrote: