× Family & Parenting

TTC during PGY-1

More
4 years 3 months ago #95565 by jp061210
Hi everyone, I've been a long-time reader but have hardly posted here over the years. I've been reading since I was a pre-med and am now in my PGY-1 year. I've had mad baby fever since we got married almost 5 years ago but since hubs was in grad school too we decided to wait until we had incomes before starting a family. Once residency started we thought it would be wise to wait to start trying to get pregnant until a baby would not be due during my intern year. I was thrilled when we decided to start trying to conceive 3 months ago. No luck yet but I'm staying positive. However, I have been using ovulation prediction strips for the past 3 months and haven't seen a clear positive result. I am 27, normal weight and have no outward signs of PCOS but have had longer, irregular cycles for most of life. I had a copper IUD in for 4 years prior to TTCing so fertility should theoretically return immediately. I know most OB/Gyns (including mine) say to wait 1 year before looking into causes of infertility. But if I am using ovulation prediction kits and not seeing any clear positive ovulations I don't want to wait a whole year. What threshold should I have for calling my OB if I still don't see any ovulations over the next few months? I am trying to stay sane and balance my expectations between wanting to be pregnant yesterday and knowing it takes many people much more than 3 months to conceive :-) Thanks for any and all advice!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 3 months ago #95566 by lyn2006