× Family & Parenting

Starting Intern Year After 9 Month Hiatus with 9 Month Old

More
2 weeks 1 day ago #96891 by Anesthesia201721
Hi everyone,

I am starting intern year in Anesthesiology soon and I've been away from anything clinical since September. I've enjoyed every second of spending time with my daughter and finishing up my public health degree. But, I'm terrified that I have forgotten everything.

My concerns:
1) My below average board scores and inability to remember basic concepts make me feel like the hiatus will be worse for me than the average medical student. I'm scared I won't be able to even recognize a MI.

2) Will I be able to be a mother and wife during residency or do I have to disappear for 4 years? I have ENT, colorectal surgery, and CT surgery the first three months. I'm worried that I won't be able to give my daughter or husband the attention they need, especially since I am a below average student (in terms of board exams and tests) who will need to put in more effort than other interns who are working to become confident, knowledgeable anesthesiologists.

My Questions:

Do I need to be reviewing a lot right now and if so, what's better: board review books (STEP 2/3) or clinically oriented books (pocket medicine, Marino's ICU)?

What strategies/coping methods did you use as an intern to balance the workload?

How do you deal with not seeing your family much? How do you prepare your husband/significant other for this transition?

What advice could you lend a student who has always struggled to keep up with medical knowledge, clinical skills, and family life until now?
More
1 week 6 days ago #96893 by sahmd