× Family & Parenting

Baby After 4th Year

More
3 months 4 weeks ago #140785 by epc2018
I'm evaluating having my third child at the end of 4th year. Originally, I thought this might be a good time, because there is some built in time after my last rotation where I could potentially be able to fit maternity leave (probably about 2 months). That being said, I really don't like to put my kids in daycare before 3 or 4 months, so my question is whether it might be possible to start intern year late. That is, I would essentially be asking if I could take a few weeks of maternity leave up front before launching into intern year. I know there have been multiple entries on this subject, and I'm not trying to beat a dead horse, but I was hoping someone might have some insight specifically on this distinct situation of taking maternity leave before you really even start residency. I'm sure some of you are wondering why I'm trying to push this agenda, but I'm a non-traditional student and will be 35 when I start my residency. I prefer not to wait until after I complete my residency to have my third baby and doing it during residency (i.e. year 2 or 3) seems even less ideal as I will likely have even less time for maternity leave (I'm assuming I probably wouldn't get more than 6 weeks). So far, I've had both my other two children during my med school journey and have not had to put either in daycare until 4 months, and I would like to be able to do the same for my third (and probably last) child. Thoughts?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 months 4 weeks ago #140787 by sahmd