× Family & Parenting

the motherhood/residency balance

More
12 years 2 months ago #42084 by general peds mom
I was pregnant with my first during my 3rd year of pediatric residency. Was running to codes and such near term, did my last two weeks of Emergency medicine when 9 months pregnant (thought this would send me into premature labor, no luck, 12 hour shifts and went past my due date). I was off for 6 weeks (extended my residency 6 weeks), then went back to call every 4th night.

I was exhausted, I was pumping during the day when I could (and night when on call) then taking care of my daughter at night, cleaning bottles and pumping supplies, getting bottles ready for the next day.

Luckily my mother visited for 4 weeks, and we had a great neighbor who watched her when I was on call and my husband was out of town.

Difficult to do, definitely. It was easier after residency when I worked as an attending.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 2 months ago #42085 by Beth056
Thanks everyone for your replies! I really enjoy hearing about your experiences. I have two follow-up questions.

Which have you found or would you expect to be more manageable from the mother's perspective:

1. Having the 4th year baby, where pregnancy/nursing/adjustment is probably easier than during residency, or having a first child during residency, when at least the suffering of internship is over. Waiting until after residency just isn't an option for me - I'll be older than I would like to be with my first child and I'm ready NOW (except financially, of course).

2. Which senario would you expect to be easier on the child?

Thanks!

More
12 years 2 months ago #42086 by rina33