× Family & Parenting

Sigh. (Long late night rant)

More
6 years 11 months ago #89023 by lyn2006
Oh my gosh peanuts, so sorry to read that. I'm not even really sure what to say, other than, feel free to share your thoughts here and we are happy to all support you. I can't imagine having the bottom drop out of my world like that...

I'm an anesthesia resident and our program gives some substance abuse lectures when we start anesthesia and they totally freaked me out. It's like a 10% abuse rate. The problem is, we have access to really dangerous drugs. Sometimes (I'm sure you've heard) the first sign is when someone has overdosed. I'm assuming that wasn't the case for you, and perhaps that is the only bright side to all of this.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 11 months ago #89024 by peanuts
Thank you for your kind words. There have actually been a lot of bright sides to this. I was in kind of a bad mood last night.
It is good to have my husband back. I am hopeful that this will be the last of his drug use, and he will be the happy, healthy man he is now forever. I am so thankful that I didn't have to go through what Popcorn did with her husband and force him into treatment. I was in complete denial that anything was wrong at all until he came home and told me he had been caught, and he was going to treatment later that week.

I was elated when he first got home from rehab. He seemed like a completely different person. He was intense about his treatment, just like he is about everything.
I am worried he is going to relapse though. I don't know what I will do if he does.

More
6 years 11 months ago #89034 by Popcorn
If my story helps another woman struggling with a similar issue, then it was worth telling it. Addiction is far more common than most people realize, because we are really good at hiding it!