× Family & Parenting

new born circumcision

More
12 years 3 months ago #44140 by rianah100
Hi,
DH and I need to make a decision on whether to circumcise our baby boy (my c-section is now in 8 days) or not. I would like to know what others on this forum think about this topic. we live in the
US.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 3 months ago #44141 by momRNtoDO
I have three sons. One of the deciding factors for us was: What does dad have done. Is he circumcised or not? I felt that it would be best for my sons to be like their dad. First there wouldn't be any questions from kids who might not understand the answer, and second, dad can teach the boys how to care for themselves based on his experience. If you haven't been around or used to taking care of foreskin (I am a nurse, and that extra always just threw me) then it will be one more thing to learn.

All three boys were circumcised before leaving the hospital. The first and last had the plastibell procedure. I much preferred it to the straight surgical incision that left the glans exposed and red. It looked so painful, whereas the plastibell covered and protected the glans, and fell off in a couple of days exposing healed skin. With the second, we had to use vaseline and gauze with every diaper change and baby screamed when I cleaned it. I asked why they didn't do the plastibell, and they said it was physician preference. I would ask the pediatrician if it matters to you which procedure is used.

It is a personal choice, but I don't really know if there is a significant risk to have/not have it, as long as personal hygeine is taught from the start. And no, my sons do not know the difference in other boys at 3,5,and 8, but in the future when they are older and notice it, I will tell them if they ask.

“For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future” (Jeremiah 29:11).

More