× Family & Parenting

name change

More
12 years 2 months ago #45832 by babywonder
wow, have kinda disappeared for a while, i guess :) oh well.
i have been contemplating for several months about changing my name to my husband's name. does anyone know how long it takes to do? also, i was originally thinking to do it after graduation, but someone mentioned that it is a hassle to show legally that you (w/new name) are the same person as the one on the medical diploma. is this true?
i really like the tradition of a woman changing her name, but am still reluctant to change mine; i keep going back and forth. i definately do not want to hyphenate, as that would be way too long! i think part of the issue is that i feel as if i would hurt my parent's feelings if i did this, which is strange b/c my mother changed her name, and we've all talked about it and it did not seem like a big deal. i know by now i should act more independently and not worry so much about what my parents think, but i can't help it. i'm sure i'm not the only one who's thought endlessly about this...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 2 months ago #45833 by SAHMdoc
I have heard that it can be a hassle if you change your name after graduation from medical school. It's not the end of the world or anything, but it is just another little hoop to jump through each time you apply to take boards or for your state license or whatever. If you know for sure you will want to change your name, I would do it before you graduate, just to avoid that additional minor hurdle for the rest of your career.
To be honest, I almost changed mine the week before graduation. My husband has a very simple, easy-to-spell American name. My maiden name, on the other hand, is foreign, very difficult to spell and pronounce. But I just couldn't bring myself to do it. So...we've been married for 11 years and I still have my maiden name.