× Family & Parenting

How do you guys feel about pitocin?

More
11 years 5 months ago #47389 by merri
So being the pregnant med student that I am - I decided I wanted to go see a delivery at my hospital. I was able to see a vaginal delivery - and it went very well - and was a good experience for me.

One thing bothered me though - I'm not sure if I'm overreacting - or don't understand enough... so let me know your opinions.

I asked how many of the patients get pitocin - the OB (who is potentially may deliver me) and one of the nurses kind of laughed - and said - most. The nurse said more than 80%. I was shocked. They tried to explain to me that it was the same as what your body does on its own - just faster and more efficient.... that it doesn't hurt more....

Now - I don't feel like I can contest what they are saying because I'm only a med student - I don't want to question my OB's medical judgement - but at the same time - I thought pit was to help move labor along when it was needed. They made it sound like it was always needed. They also said that they like for the moms to deliver the same day... so then I was thinking - well is this best for the mom and baby - or just best and easiest for the staff?!

Am I overreacting? Is it really not a big deal?
I feel like I am somewhere in between. I don't want to have a home birth - not totally comfortable with that - but on the other side - I don't want a totally medically overmanaged birth in which I have no say.

I have already changed doctors and medical centers once - but now I am second guessing my decision. The worst part is that now I am at my hospital where I will most likely be doing my OB rotation next year - and I don't want to get on their wrong side as a student. Still - as a patient I don't know if this hospital will be the best for me.

Any thoughts?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 5 months ago #47390 by AnnaM