× Family & Parenting

What residency is the most "familiar"?

More
11 years 3 months ago #50200 by jhmd
Hi,
I have been reading some post here and many of them really motivated me in some many ways.
Now I am asking for any advice about residency and family time...I am an IMG graduated last year an came back to US , now I am in the way to take my steps and apply for a residency program.
But I would like to know in your experiences which medical residency and specialty which be the one that let me have family time...I am a mom of a 2 yo and will due my second boy in September and family is very important to me .
I like pediatrics also family Medicine and Obstetrics but I studied 6 years of Obstetrics in my country before get my MD ( there are a program for what I think you call midwifes..)I know that it is really hard when you can be called any time.I used to wanted to become a cardiovascular surgeon before I met my husband and have a family since I loved to live in the hospital and stay many hours in the OR...but now I love my family much more than that but still have my passion for medicine which my husband really supports.
So please help me to know how some programs are here, I know this reality is different than what I come from and my husband is very supportive ( he is engineer) but we both decided that I will do a medical training in some field that let us to have a good family time.
Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 3 months ago #50201 by swissmiss
I think you have some tough decisions to make. I will say that Ob/Gyn is not particularly family friendly and I would not do it unless you absolutely don't enjoy any other field (I am an ob/gyn which is why I feel I can say this - and I didn't enjoy any other field which is why I did it!).

I would say the same thing about just about any field in surgery.