× Family & Parenting

Nontrad-age, single, anxious

More
13 years 9 months ago #51213 by fascinoma
Anyone in this situation?

I am 32 - a "non-traditional-age" student. I am a pre-med student and I do not expect to make it to med school until 36 or so - that's even an optimistic estimate, because I really screwed up in college in my early 20s.

The deal is, I'm single, facing a really serious nesting urge, and I find myself having a lot of anxieties related to this... should I bother with relationships, when I may have to move out of state in four years? Where am I going to fit in marriage/children? Do I want to start a family, while under the huge amounts of student debt I expect to incur?

By the time I'm done with med school and residency, and paid off my loans, I'll be too old to have kids.

That said, I am kind of bitter about men - (I'm soon to be a divorcee) my impression has been that most men almost never change residence for the woman's career/school, or even pull their load around the house/in the relationship. At least this is what broke up my previous marriage. If anyone has any better experience, please let me know. I need to feel more hopeful.

I also find myself feeling negative about why anyone would want to be with a 32 year old who's in my position.

Thanks for any feedback you have.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 9 months ago #51214 by SteplifeMom
I guess I'd start by knowing for sure what I mean by "really serious nesting urge". Meaning the longing for a husband, companion? Kids? What does nesting mean to you? And you say you'd be too old to have kids once your education is complete? So is that ok with you? Is that a choice you think you have to make, or is that a choice you want to make? Are you content with the answer?

As for if you should bother with relationships, just don't let fear drive your decision. Dating isn't marrying.