× Family & Parenting

nursing mom going back to work

More
14 years 6 months ago #51832 by momDOdoc
I graduated from medical school last June and had a baby in August. I've postponed my internship a year and now will be starting the end of this June with a 10 month old, Miko. He is still nursing happily and I'd like to continue nursing and using a breast pump. Any advice would be appreciated. Kinds of breast pumps? I saw a hands free bustier advertised and thought I might be able to take advantage of my driving time each day. (crazy, huh?) Any one ever try that product?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 6 months ago #51833 by momdoc
I don't think I'd want to be the highway patrol officer that pulls you over if you are swerving or speeding while pumping. :blush:

More
14 years 6 months ago #51834 by mom1st
I pumped and breastfed my first child during residency; I hardly pumped with my second as I live 2 blocks from work (at home babysitter) and ran home to nurse him during the day. I have a Medela pump, which most lactation consultants recommend. It is a double, electric one (don't waste your time with a manual pump)... I really struggled to keep my milk supply up with a pump, so I actually bought the newest Medela pump, which more closely resembles baby's real sucking action. I had had an earlier Medela pump that was not the one which imitates baby's sucking...I have to say the newest model is much better. Expect to pay $250-300, but you will save money versus formula plus all the benefits of breast milk. Check out the Medela site ( www.Medela.com , I think) for more info. Many websites, maternity stores, home health/medical products stores will carry them. I shopped around on the web and got free shipping and a good deal.