× General Discussion

Any birth video or training to recommend?

More
9 years 7 months ago #74051 by emmd2012
Hi, I'm an emergency medicine resident; and my husband is not in medicine. We're expecting our first baby in 5 months! What would you recommend that we do to prepare us for the birth process? I feel like I know a lot of it from my OBGYN rotations; so, I'm not sure a regular class would benefit me that much. I would like to do something so that my husband feels more prepared, though. Should we just do a class? Or is there a video you might recommend?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 7 months ago #74053 by Emily2651
What kind of birth do you hope to have?

The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears, or the sea. -- Isak Dinesen

More
9 years 7 months ago #74055 by Docmomof4
We actually did a class b/c hubby isn't in medicine-I would recommend a one day thing though, and lactation class was valuable for both of us...Not sure about birth videos, maybe your dr or hospital could recommend some...

More
9 years 7 months ago #74058 by espm
I had my daughter in residency as well and didn't have time to go to a scheduled class. I borrowed this video from my public library (Laugh and Learn About Childbirth).

www.amazon.com/Laugh-Learn-About-Childbi...id=1272076414&sr=8-2