× General Discussion

PA option

More
9 years 3 months ago #75160 by snowflake
Hi everyone,

I've had a number of people PM me to ask me questions about PA school. To avoid responding to everyone individually, I'm answering all the questions here (if you have another one add it it and I will try to answer it). This might also be helpful for others as well rather than replying on an individual basis:

1. why PA over med school?
I've written pretty extensively about why I chose PA school over med school, so I'm not covering that here. Basically, the reasons come down to cost, flexibility (during school, after school, and in moving areas of medicine), and responsibility (I'm never in top command, so to speak, which means my job is less stressful). Another advantage I've noticed more recently is expectation--as a doctor I think many other doctors will expect you to have the same commitment (read: time commitment), and if you don't want to spend as much time at work, or be as available to your patients, you are seen as a "less dedicated" doctor. This might be changing somewhat, but I think there is still very much an old boy's club mentality. I don't think this happens with PAs. I think people expect that you do the hours you get paid for, but NOT to be constantly available to patients. This might also apply with knowledge--as a PA, the standard you're compared to is lower, which means if you can exceed this, everyone is impressed. (Impressed employers=great references=great job opportunities).

2. What area of medicine can you work in as a PA?
Any area. Really. There are PAs working in everything from family medicine to transplant surgery. Plus, you never have to commit--you can always change your mind.

3. I want to go to PA school as a back-up option for med school.