× General Discussion

Leaving after intern year?

More
7 years 6 months ago #84557 by LoveBug14
I know this is putting the cart before the horse.... I am in my 4th year, set to start family medicine residency in July, and I am having serious reservations about this whole thing (besides the fact it's terrifying to think about leaving my son, I simply don't think medicine is for me).

But, I think that I am least going to try. I owe that to my program I think - to not quit before even giving it a shot. In my state, you can get licensed after intern year. So I do hope to do that, at a minimum.

Does anyone know of or have personal experience with leaving a program after 1 year? Forgive my naivety, but it is even legal? Don't you sign a contract beforehand?

Thanks, any info would help a very nervous mama.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 6 months ago #84566 by sahmd
I am glad that you are committed to at least trying internship. Keep in mind that it is the hardest year and things will get better after that. I don't know about the legal aspects of quitting after one year, but the farther you go in your training, the more options you will have as a doctor. Having a license is definitely better than just having an M.D., and you may be able to work in places like urgent care clinics. Completing residency is better and will qualify you for actual family medicine jobs. Becoming board certified will qualify you for better family medicine jobs and will give you more job security. Needless to say, getting more training will also make you a better doctor.

Of course, if medicine is not for you at all, then you would need to figure out what *is* for you and how much training you would need in order to do that.

I do hope you enjoy internship. From your other thread, it sounds like your son will be well taken care of so that you can focus on work as much as you need to.

More
7 years 6 months ago #84568 by LoveBug14