× General Discussion

PA to DO at LECOM, is it worth it?

More
5 years 7 months ago #86327 by ElliePA
Hi everyone! I have been viewing these forums for a while! Here is a little bit about me and my situation: I am currently a PA student. Before going to PA school I was an echo tech (cardiac ultrasound tech). I loved ultrasound, but my hunger for knowledge and desire to broaden my scope of practice and do more for my patients lead me to PA school. I originally wanted to go to med school, but my hubby and I could not fully commit to the time in training, moving around for residency/fellowship training, plus me having to take the time to finish pre-reqs. The pre-reqs for PA school are different than med school. So, since PA school was only 26 months and I could apply right away I decided to compromise take that route. When I applied to PA school I was 22 years old. I will be 24 when I graduate PA school. My hubby and I have been married for 4 years and we don't have any kids yet.

Though I really enjoy PA school and I love that I will be able to practice medicine when I am done, I still feel the desire to become a physician. I love learning and deepening my knowledge. I would go to school forever if it wasn't so expensive! :) Plus, I feel that long-term earning potential is becoming an issue for me, considering my student loan debt. I am really good friends with a Cardiology PA and a Cardiologist and they both feel they have very similar jobs with similar hours but my PA friend makes 1/3 of the salary of the Cardiologist (they are both part of a non-invasive outpatient cardiology practice). They see the same amount of patients and have similar on-call schedules.