× General Discussion

PA to DO at LECOM, is it worth it?

More
1 year 1 month ago #96826 by RubeMomtobe
Hi Everyone,
I've been going through the same dilemma as ElliePA for the past 4 years I've been thinking of applying to med school but I'm so scared of accumulating more debt. I'm Married and am a homeowner , I already have 2 master degree, one in teaching and then Health science from PA school. In the end, is it worth it to go to medical school? I currently enjoy my PA career somewhat, but I feel like I want more of a challenge. I've been working as a PA for 10 years now and I guess I want to know what else I can do in this field besides returning back to school for an MD degree. my patient load is dependent on the surgeon I currently work with and I help with a colonoscopy screening program. I've seen worked with providers and management who don't think much of PAs (the one practice administrator I currently work with at first consider PAs like medical assistants...no respect for PAs as midlevel providers) one get tired after 10 years of trying to prove oneself to in the field. My supervising doc is really nice and I enjoy working with him but I get tired of nursing and managerial staff who don't think my professional opinion matters and I'm just "his assistant" who just see his post op patients.....I digress
I am thinking of applying for my Doctorate (PhD) in population health management and see what opportunities are available out there for PA's in health care management. I am in my early 40s and started a family and was wondering how I can better myself in the medical profession and feel like I'm growing in my field. I'm ready for a change. Any advice for me.....

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 4 weeks ago #96828 by sahmd