× General Discussion

MS4 thinking about not doing residency

More
6 years 2 months ago #90989 by ellabay
Hi -
I would love some advice and perspective from moms and physicians with some more experience.

I am a fourth year medical student, a newlywed, and am 33 and am seriously thinking about not doing residency. I have submitted my ERAS applications and am starting to get interviews, but I am not excited and having serious doubts, for a couple of reasons.

First, I am feeling in serious baby mode. The original plan was to put off TTC until after intern year. I am worried about waiting until I'm 35. I'm also worried about having a child during residency and worried that I'll have no time for that child. Residency sounds stressful enough without adding the extra challenges of being a new mom, plus feeling guilty for not being there and all the added sleep deprivation.

Second, I am feeling burned out. It's been a long 4 years for me. Spending the next 3 - 4 years working 16 hours at a time or 24 hours straight sounds, well, not what I want to be doing. I want to spend time with my husband, family, friends, outside, living life, walking the dog, cooking dinner, hopefully caring for a new baby. I love patient care and love getting to know patients and talk to them and take care of them, but the hours and hours of work for 3 or 4 more years seems unbearable. And I suspect overnight shifts wouldn't have been a huge deal at 26, but at 33, I am a wreck the entire next day. Not sure if I can keep doing this to myself.

Then I see these polls that say 60% of doctors want to quit and I wonder even more if the next 4 years of non-stop work are worth it.

Any thoughts?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 2 months ago #90994 by nerdy
What field are you applying for?