× General Discussion

fam med, peds or ER? hours, income, etc

More
11 years 1 month ago #9203 by Skye's Mom
I'm still a 3rd year med student and have been getting alot of negative feedback regarding the residencies I'm considering. Right now I'm ranking them as 1.Peds 2.Family Med 3.Emergency. But Drs keep telling me that Peds and FM will make me miserable in the long run b/c the hours are long, you have little time with each patient, and income is low.
I'm not trying to be rich and it's not all about money, but I'd like to be able to pay off my insane loan amounts (private DO med school) and still live comfortably. And the reason I don't want to work crazy hours (besides being able to spend time w/the family) is b/c I plan on volunteering alot and if I'm working my butt off to make ends meet I won't be able to do that.

Can people who are currently working in the Peds or FM field write about their experiences? Tell me
1.)If you're doing Peds or FM
2.)If you have your own practice, work in a group practice or work in a hospital
2.)What your hours are like
3.)Avg time you get with each patient
4.)Income

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 1 month ago #9204 by residentmom
1.)If you're doing Peds or FM: I am 2 years out of FM residency
2.)If you have your own practice, work in a group practice or work in a hospital: I am employed by a hospital system, in a solo office but with over 70 physicians in my multi-specialty group.
2.)What your hours are like: I do 32 patient contact hours and 40 total hours a week.
3.)Avg time you get with each patient: 15-30 minutes, depending on the patient. I control my schedule.
4.)Income: Very comfortable base salary with bonuses for production and quality performance- I enjoy the "no-risk" aspect of being employed. I don't necessarily make as much as I could in PP, but I get a paycheck every 2 weeks rain or shine, or vacation/ maternity leave. :)