× General Discussion

Stressed out about Kids during Med 1

More
3 years 10 months ago #96112 by lucianmommyoftwins
I'm a Med 1 student at a Caribbean medical school. I am about to complete my first semester but things did not go well and it's pretty likely that I will have to repeat Med 1 if I am not dismissed. Originally, my husband and kids were supposed to relocate with me but my husband changed his mind at the last minute and decided to stay in the U.S. with the kids. He thought it would have been difficult to find employment here. It has been very difficult for me to concentrate because my kids have not been receiving the proper care that they need. They moved from being straight A students to failing every single class. They're also having behavioral and disciplinary issues. It's as if everything has turned upside down with me being gone.

I am debating whether I should try to get into a U.S. school by retaking the MCAT but I don't think I will be able to do well on the new MCAT. The last thing I want to do is give up on my dream. It took a great deal of sacrifice for me to get here even though I am failing. There's absolutely nothing else that I want to do with my life. I had a teaching career before medical school and I know teaching is not my calling. I just could not give studying my 100% knowing that my kids were not getting a proper dinner; not doing well in school; having behavioral issues. I just feel so overwhelmed and stressed out. Part of me wants to give up but part of me wants to keep going. I just don't think it makes sense that I'm pursuing my dream to give my kids a better life but their lives are being destroyed in the process. They're eight years old and that's an impressionable year.

If anyone has any advice, please reach out.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 10 months ago #96118 by sahmd