× General Discussion

Docs married to Docs?

More
14 years 8 months ago #11680 by mom1st
I am a family physician married to an internal med doc, and we've been together since my first year of med school. (We were set up by classmates...) He was a year ahead of me, and we married at the end of my third year, which was a week after his graduation. We just celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary, and we have two kids (3 yr and 18 months...our oldest was born during residency). Here are my thoughts:

1. Marry your soul mate and best friend, whether he's a doc, a mechanic, a teacher, whatever... Yes, it is nice to just be able to "talk shop" with him and know that he totally understands where I am coming from. Yet, I could also see how it would be refreshing to have him do something OTHER THAN medicine to get another perspective on life. No matter what, though, I get to spend every day with my best friend, and that is what really counts. (Now, don't get me wrong...it would be nice to have him bring OTHER skills to the relationship, like gournet cooking, financial planning, massage therapy...but I guess I'll just have to live with the medicine stuff.) ;)

2. The finances are tricky with a two doc family. Yes, good incomes overall compared with some other career paths, but we have about $250,000 total education debt. Yikes. That's more money in pay back each month than most people spend on their mortgage and vehicle. A second to the above regarding consolidation... It's okay to consolidate your loans individually but DO NOT combine both of your loans into one. (In fact, some lending institutions won't even allow you to do this.)