× General Discussion

What's your exercise routine?

More
14 years 4 months ago #15725 by weirdo
Yeah, I'm worried about gaining weight during school b/c I have a tendency to snack when I'm studying late at night to keep me awake. I'm trying to lose weight before I start school, but I have had some weird knee problems (pray I don't need surgery). So I have started swimming laps a few times a week. I like it b/c it's calming and gentle, and I don't get sweaty and hot, although I still have to rinse off the chlorine afterwards. OK, wearing a swimsuit sucks, but wearing goggles and a swimcap is fun -makes me feel like I'm training for the swimteam. :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 4 months ago #15726 by Angie O'Plasty
I agree with the previous poster--swimming rocks! Especially when the weather is hot and jogging etc. just doesn't sound appealing. The only disadvantage is that it doesn't really do anything for building bone mass, since it's not weight bearing. So it's a good idea to alternate it with some weight training to get those benefits.

More
14 years 4 months ago #15727 by Emily2651
I run 3X/wk and lift weights 2X/wk. But I've still gained 3 or 4 pounds this year (MS1) ... definitely got the snacking-during-studying going on. :(

The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears, or the sea. -- Isak Dinesen

More
14 years 4 months ago #15728 by DrRissa
Definately get a pedometer. www.digiwalker.com has some neat ones that calculate caloric expendature also. 10,000 steps is the daily goal.

I joined a health club. It was the only way I could commit myself to exercising regularily. With 2 little ones it's just taxing at times. The gym has excellent childcare (something I'm so picky about), and they page me when Hunter needs to be nursed.

Anyways, I typically go to Yoga (sometimes Pilates) classes 2 or 3 times a week at the gym. And often 2-3 times do yoga at home before bed.