× General Discussion

Thread in the physicians forums - is it depressing anyone else?

More
12 years 2 months ago #16626 by Emily2651
OK, so the "I want out" thread in the physicians forums is seriously bumming me out. Anyone want to talk about it?

I have a question for the unhappy docs floating around mommd: do you have any advice for those of us already in training? Specific specialties to consider? Academic practice v. private practice? Group v. solo practice? Rural v. urban practice? Particular kinds of contract details to negotiate for? Saying "Don't say we didn't warn you!" is fine, I guess, but it's not very helpful, espcially for those of us who are in the middle of training, and already deep in debt.

The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears, or the sea. -- Isak Dinesen

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 2 months ago #16627 by star
Yes, this depresses me, too! I want to know what needs to change! I am only a medical student, and still in my basic sciences years, so I haven't had much clinical experience. I don't know what goes on behind the scenes. I do know that my father-in-law had to quit his private practice because of his lack of reimbursement. He now works for the state medical school residency program. So, what do we do? People need physicians. Someone has to do the job. We can't just all quit. Then what? So, I want to know what you all think would be a realistic solution.

Star

More
12 years 2 months ago #16628 by twinmom
I've been thinking about this, and it seems to me that every single profession where you care for other people has the strong potential for burnout and, over the last N years has gotten progressively less desirable for its practicioners.

Medicine? Sure.
Nursing? Perhaps even more so.