× General Discussion

OBGYN's Please Reply

More
12 years 9 months ago #19366 by medstudent24
I am a 1st year med student and I know that I don't have to decide my specialty right now, but I would like to have some idea. I have always been interested in OBGYN, ER, and PEDS. OBGYN is my top choice but I am often warned about going into it. Whatever I do I want to be happy and have time for a family. I would like advice and opinions on hours/week, on-call time, pay and reimbursement, and any other pros or cons.

My husband and I are planning on having our first child during my 4th year and another one during residency. I do not want to take any time off, if at all possible. Any pros or cons with this too?

Thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 9 months ago #19367 by JN819
thanks for you post!
I would also like to know the answers to your questions, as I am also looking into OBGYN, am married and we are thinking of having a baby in the 4th year.

More
12 years 9 months ago #19368 by docE
Ok, this is a bit freaky...I'm also a 1st year med student, married, planning on having our 1st baby hopefully at the beginning of 4th year and strongly leaning towards OBGYN or possibly PEDS. Any OBGYNs with any info?

More
12 years 9 months ago #19369 by DrEthiope
Hello,

I'm an OB/GYN who now only practices Gyn. The reason for that is because the doctor who owned the first practice I worked for lost his malpractice insurance 1 year and 10 months after I started, and the practice dissolved. Right after that is when I started doing GYN only. I'm not married and don't have any children, but the practice of gyn-only, I think, could be conducive to both.