× General Discussion

natural birth

More
14 years 3 months ago #2778 by Doc201X

Originally posted by white_feather:
Again, I think the question we need to ask ourselves, as scientific minded people, is what is going on differently at home that the outcomes are so phenomenal when compared to hospital birth?

As a SCIENTIST, I don't feel compelled at all to ask myself this question. Why??? BECAUSE I DON"T CARE HOW PHENOMENAL HOME BIRTH IS, IT'S NOT FOR ME unless it's unavoidable!!!

My Scientist/Physician Journey
www.Doc201X.blogspot.com

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 3 months ago #2779 by white_feather
Path - this isn't about you. It's about public policy and what doctors recommend to their patients. I honestly couldn't care less what you choose for yourself.

But as women, we deserve to know what our REAL options are -- ALL of them. Even if we don't choose ALL of them.

As scientists, doctors, and feminists, we need to make sure that women have access to evidence-based care, evidence-based professional opinions, and evidence-based public policy.

It's not about you.

More
14 years 3 months ago #2780 by Doc201X

Originally posted by white_feather:
It's not about you.

No ****e sherlock! :rolleyes:

I have no problem having intelligent debates about women's health issues but when people like you try to slyly insinuate that not doing what YOU think is superior reflects on a person's intellect and ability to make rational decisions about their OWN heath CHOICES, I get pissed. So there it is.

Evidenced-based medicine? Evidence based my arse. As a former epidemiologist, I can't tell you how severly flawed so many medical studies REALLY are. Not to mention the conflict of interest between the person sponsoring the study and the person(s) conducting it. In SOME situations the best "evidenced based medicine" is whatever feels right for you.

And BTW, it ain't about you either! :p

My Scientist/Physician Journey