× General Discussion

Struggling Mother

More
1 week 3 days ago #140806 by LizzieB
Hello,

I'm a DO medical student (just finished 3rd year), and just really need some encouragement and advice right now. I had my baby on March 9th this year and had to return to rotations on March 27th. As you can imagine, this was so difficult. I cried and cried that first day back, and mostly every day since then. My husband didn't understand, and kept saying, "you'll see him tonight," which of course made me cry even more. On rotations, I'd go see patients, then go pump in a bathroom stall and cry, and then go back and see a few more, and the cycle continued for the next several months.

I think I've had some pp depression, and a preceptor approached me and asked me about it, of course I denied I was struggling. My Ob doctor asked me about it, and I said I was fine, nothing I couldn't handle. I guess I was embarrassed that I couldn't handle being a mother and medical student.

I am still very overwhelmed, and basically life isn't fun, or enjoyable. My baby is the world's worst sleeper; sleep has been non-existent. I don't remember most of the last few months. I did have a breakdown one night where I screamed at my husband to leave the room, all in front of my crying baby. This is very unlike me, and I am embarrassed I acted this way toward him. My husband got really upset, ended up calling my mom for advice. Behaving that way in front of my baby and toward my husband, well that was probably the lowest point of my life. And I don't think I can forgive myself for all of this.