× General Discussion

hi guy,i have a question,please help me!

More
6 months 1 week ago #141088 by handsome09
Hi, all! I'm new here, so I'll give a brief intro. I graduated with a BA in Psychology/Neuroscience from an ivy league in 2001, and completed all the premed requirements since med school was my plan at the time. I also took the MCAT in 2001 and got a 32, not that it matters at this point! Haha
I worked in research during undergrad and right after, including some amazing internships - one with a former surgeon general, and one doing stem cell research at Harvard. I also did a fair amount of shadowing and volunteering at hospitals.

Then I switched gears and had 9 kids in 12 years. No, really. :lol: I have 4 daughters and 5 sons - right now their ages are 14, 12, 11, 9, 8, 6, 5, 3, and almost 2. Obviously my family is very important to me! But now that we're done having kids and are looking ahead to the next chapter, I am thinking more and more about my own goals and what I want to do when my kids are grown, etc.

My plan is to go back to school when my youngest is in kindergarten, so fall of 2019. I'll be 38 at that point! My dream job would be a combination of research and clinical (probably neuro). I know an MD/PhD program takes a really long time, but that's actually one of the things I like about it. The clinical years and residency wouldn't start until my youngest is 10-12, and by then at least three of the kids will be in college. And obviously the tuition coverage is appealing since we already have a fair amount of student loans, but really I want the training from both degrees! My husband is theoretically supportive, but he works about 50 hours/week and I wouldn't plan on leaning on him during daylight hours. There's also the possibility of help from my mom, who is basically begging to come live with us, haha..