× General Discussion

how do dual physician families work?

More
11 years 8 months ago #4346 by pulpo
wow! That is a great article that Conflicted posted. It really sums up what I feel personally and I think many of my friends feel as well. I think it applies to the younger generation of male physicians as well. My husband and many of my male colleagues from residency married wives who are also physicians or who are working professionals, and they expect to be very involved in their kids' lives and to share household duties, etc. And as a result, they may not be committing 110% to work, at the expense of their families. That's very different than a generation ago. When I was a junior resident (7 yr academic general surgery program), my program director was shocked when one of the male residents requested a week off for paternity leave-- he was the first. By the time I graduated, several more male residents had taken time off after the births of their offspring and even one female resident, though she only took two weeks maternity leave. As far as med school couples go, many of my classmates dated each other and more than half went on to get married and are still married. Yes, med school is a small community where people like to gossip and breakups can be nasty, but it shouldn't preclude you from exploring a relationship with a classmate. Best wishes.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 8 months ago #4347 by Baby Einstein

Originally posted by Conflicted:
The drama came when my friends dated attendings - especially married ones.

:yikes:

More
11 years 8 months ago #4348 by Baby Einstein
Great article, thanks! I also liked this other article (which cited the first and was linked at the bottom of the page)