× General Discussion

Choosing a specialty???

More
17 years 4 months ago #4724 by cmsusi
Hey everyone! I am a medical student who is constantly asked "what kind of doctor are you going to be?" I know what I am interested in, surgery, but am worried I will not have any time for a family. I would love to hear from women doctors in all specialties. I want to know what kind of experiences you have had balancing work and family, and if you are a surgeon, would you do it again? I am also considering ER, so any insight to that would be great as well. I am not married nor do I have children yet, but hope to have it all one day, and want to be somewhat prepared. Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 10 months ago #88029 by christophermorgh
You *can* have a family/ outside life though your time may be unpredictable and limited. When I started residency, there was a period where we worked in excess of 120 hours, and honestly, during that time, my life WAS the hospital.

Now, the hour limitations are more strictly enforced, for the better and worse. I can usually plan at least a night out per week with friends and still have time to read. It is still pretty difficult to take a weekend trip in that months may go by without having a 2 day stretch off. At home pager call can be hit or miss; sometimes, I rarely go in, other times, I spend the night at the hospital.

Surgery isn't easy though the hours alone are not impossible to handle. Sometimes, I very seriously doubted whether it was worth it- lawsuits, hostile staff/patients, scut, etc, etc can jade you. On the other hand, I'm beginning to see that as a surgeon you often are the one that can really fix things and handle whatever comes your way. I like being able to at least provide the chance to fix a problem and I absolutely love to teach technical skills.