× Introductions & Connections

Welcome to MomMD! - Introduce yourself!

More
3 years 8 months ago #94038 by Crna2md/do
Hello All,
I am a Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) now going on 7 yrs. An active duty Army husband, one 4 yr old daughter and well now 9 mos pregnant,, girl, and i finally finally managed to take my MCAT in April. It has been a very long soul searching road of should I just be content with this amazing profession of mine which everyone seems to say; always the Docs, or really go for my deep rooted love of studying and having all that clinical knowledge. It sounds cheesy but its true. Don't get me wrong, I studied long and hard for my Masters but there has been this nagging desire for me to be on the other side.
I have to be honest though, my scores will probably suck being that I was pregnant throughout my MCAT studying . You remember the exhaustion and the baby brain. My husband saw how depressed I had become from not being able to give it my all so next year I am getting a tutor. I am determined to at least try to say that I have no regrets. Thanks. And are there any past CRNAs here that have encountered this, would love a reply to know that i am not off my rocker.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 7 months ago #94185 by asunshine
Hi CRNA, I had a similar (but not exactly the same) path as you. I am SO glad I went into medicine. At the same time, you have to do it because you love to learn and love to take care of patients, because otherwise it's easy to get jaded and overwhelmed by the debt and massive training required. Your family (and you!) will make a lot of sacrifices for your career over the next decade(s).