× Introductions & Connections

Deciding whether to study medicine after 40.

More
8 years 3 months ago #75331 by mimir
Hi! :) I just discovered this site and it's been a blessing.
I am a 41 year old mom of four kids, ages 17, 15, 12, and 6.
All my life, since I was a kid I wanted to be a doctor. I studied pre-med in college and worked as a lab technician in the University's School of Medicine, in the Microbiology department. It was a great opportunity! We were funded by the NIH. I liked it very much! As I was deciding to apply for med school, some of my co- workers and the doctor that I was working for discouraged me to apply. They often argued about the negatives of studying medicine. I'm the type of person that analyzes and overanalyzes everything, and also I was young impressionable and engaged. SO, I decided to study something related and less time consuming, I studied Medical Technology.

Four Kids and 20 years later, the ghost of my decisions still haunts me today. I've been working in research with a neuroscientist, but I'm recently unemployed. As I analyze and overanalyze my possibilities for the future I've been thinking about studying for the MCAT this year. But, I worry about the time that I will not be spending with my kids (I've been more of a stay-at-home mom than anything else). I worry about what it will cost me as well; my kids are on their way to college and I would be doing the same thing. Loans would be needed to be taken out and it seems like too much money and it scares me. :eek:

I'm sending this S.O.S to the world, maybe someone can give me their opinion. Is there anyone out there with the same situation? Any advice? I'd greatly appreciate it! :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 3 months ago #75404 by Fresh12
Oh My God. I love you.