× Introductions & Connections

Suddenly board ineligible - career over?!?!?

More
4 years 8 months ago #92308 by JazzHands2004
In mid-December of last year, I was notified that I am one of the first pediatricians who are no longer “BE/BC” as I did not pass my Board exam – again – and my time-limit is up. I graduated from residency, where I was co-chief in my third year, 10 years ago. Since that time, I have worked as a pediatric hospitalist for a single health system in a near-tertiary care center, also serving as director of pediatric hospital medicine and vice-chair of pediatrics. This has been a career I intended on retiring from, especially since I am well-established in the community, have four young children in the school system, and I am required to stay put due to shared custody agreements my husband and I have with our previous spouses.