× Introductions & Connections

Can MD moms have it all??

More
2 years 6 months ago #95844 by tk13md
Hello,

I wanted to introduce myself and hopefully make some connections! I received my MD and completed my PGY1 yr. I found out I was pregnant and with a private practice MD husband, an incredibly tough pregnancy with constant nausea, vomiting, IUGr which was prob due to me not taking care of myself, I decided to stay at home with baby. I have no regrets... I love being w her every minute and being able to see her grow. However, I know I will want to start working again sometime next yr and feel comfortable putting her in daycare.

I would love to hear from women who have been in my situation.
What careers did you find out there for MDs w/out completed training. Where you able to reenter residency?
I would love advice, to network, and receive encouragement :-)
I graduated summa cum laude from business school undergrad and I feel like I have a lot to offer. Just confused what my next career step should be.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 6 months ago #95848 by sahmd
Welcome! I have not been in that situation, but I imagine the first place to start would be at your old residency because they already know you. When you left residency, did you take a leave of absence, or did you quit? Did you finish step 3 (because there is a deadline for that)? There are working doctors out there who have only completed internship, but it is becoming harder and harder for people to get a good job without completing a whole residency (unless they are mid-levels, but I digress). Even board certification is becoming more and more of a requirement, and you can't do that without completing a residency.