× Introductions & Connections

Thinking of leaving medicine

More
15 years 9 months ago #54338 by hope1
Hi, I just registered for mommd and I think it is a great resource for women in medicine. I finished my training 1 1/2 years ago and have been practicing cardiology since then. However, I have been having doubts about my career since I was a resident. I have been unhappy for several years and after a lot of soul searching I concluded I need to leave medicine and find another career. I am even willing to go back to school if necessary. I have no idea where to even start searching to find out what my real calling is. Anyone out there with any ideas? I am willing to look into biotechnology and pharmaceutical industry but I don't want to be involved in research either. If anyone has found themselves in a similar situation I would love to hear from them.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 years 9 months ago #54339 by mdtobe
Out of curiousity, why are you dissatisfied with your job in medicine? Were you driven to cardiology because you found it really interesting and just feel burnt out after all of the training? Is it the hours? I have been considering a career in medicine for a few years (I'm still in college) and have had very dramatic shifts in how I feel about it. I would really appreciate hearing more about your current situation. Do you think that it is your specific job that you don't like, and if you were working somewhere else it may be better? Also, what about teaching at a med school?
Best of luck

More
15 years 9 months ago #54340 by laural
Dr. Heidi,
I've sent you a private message.

More
15 years 9 months ago #54341 by kthoms0319
hope1,
Have you thought about getting into administration? or is it the politics that are driving you away? There are some places that you could still use your MD and not be in clinical medicine. Just a thought. It's something I've considered.

More
15 years 9 months ago #54342 by hope1