× Introductions & Connections

hello all! (esp. surgeons..)

More
17 years 4 months ago #54561 by angel
...just found this site, and very thankful for it!

New here so I thought I'd introduce myself:

I am a 25 year old undergraduate student considering medicine as a career. I waited to go to college after high school, perhaps for a little too long, but I now feel confident to singleheartedly follow a career path. I also got married during that time, and have had sufficient time to cultivate a wonderful relationship with my loving husband.

I have spent time in India, Sri Lanka and South Africa doing missions work. Loved it immensely, and desperately want to go back to India.

While in these countries I felt that if I only had a developed skill, something to offer the poor, that my stay would have been more beneficial to the people there. I knew I needed to go back to school, but for what???

After contemplating and researching possibilites for months, the notion of medicine surfaced
recently. Since, I have been reading (devouring) all I can find about it.

From where I am right now, I am beginning to feel that this is something I could see as a part of my life work. My goal would be to integrate medicine with my love of culture and "underserved" people groups.

I am a little intimidated about being 25 and feeling so far behind...I have to finish my undergrad...med school is a long way off. I am enrolled in pre-med reqs beginning in the fall, and taking math this summer. We'll see how it goes. No one in my family has ever gone to college, (other than my brother) so I feel this is a very big step for me. I am very motivated, have a 3.9 gpa and feel ready to take on devoted educational path.