× Introductions & Connections

Introductions!

More
17 years 4 months ago #54594 by cazza
Hi,
I am a first year medical student in Australia and Mum to two girls, who have just turned 6 and 4. I found mommd last year, when I finally had the chance to pursue my dream of being a doctor again after putting it on hold/ trying to ignore it for 16 years or so (my, how the time flies!!!).It really encouraged me to persevere, and now here I am - a medical student!!! We started in Feb over here, and these last few months have been fantastic!!! I think that by being older I really appreciate the privilige (sorry about the spelling!)of going to med school. Anyway, to those of you still trying to get in, don't give up if this is what you really want! After not getting in from high school, I thought I had no chance, but I was wrong!!!
All the best to those of you starting med school soon! I'll look forward to hearing of your experiences.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 years 4 months ago #54595 by psychmd
Hi,
I am a mom of an almost 2 year-old boy and I have two step children, a 10 yo girl and a 13 yo boy. I had completed my general psychiatry training at Brown and just graduated from the fellowship in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at Brown too.
I have a brand new job where I'm working in Women's mental health. I am lucky to be working with amazing women at a day hospital for post-partum depression and I'm in the process of building up my outpatient practice for Women either pregnant or postpartum or with various Gyn conditions.
It feels like I've been training forever but the day finally came and now I'm in "the real world".
I'd be happy to share some of my experiences applying to residency programs and while in residency as a mom. Can't say much about med school since I'm an FMG.
I have supportive ex-husband and I'm still now having to juggle call and life as a mom.