× Introductions & Connections

new 2 this

More
12 years 9 months ago #55789 by fit2survive
Im a premed student and married with three children. My oldest is 3.5 yrs, middle 2.5 yrs, and youngest is 9 mos! I think I just might be crazy! I went back to school 1.5 years ago to start my Bachelors in BIO so I could go to Med school. I had to take a semester off to have my last baby, but am now back full force. I am at an impasse. Med school is my dream, but I struggle with if it really is possible to go to med school do residency and still be a good wife and mom. I want desperately to go sooner than later, and I would be ready with everything by the time my youngest go to school full time. If there is anyone out there that can offer advice please!!! I have thought to get my Masters and teach for a bit until my kids are older and then go, but I don't know that is the best choice.
Anyone?? :cloud9:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 9 months ago #55790 by Mitch
Hi Fit!

I'm a premed, age 38, three kids (6, 4, and almost 3). I have already done a Master's and taught, and didn't enjoy it. I do think it can be done, although there are those who think it cannot. There are some great role models here at this site.
You may have to really think about what being "a good wife and mom" means to you, though. If it means doing all the housework, meals, shopping, general household managing, plus all childcare, and being there for every single soccer game as well as taking care of your husband's needs, well, I think that's almost impossible as a SAHM, never mind as a med student or resident. However, if it means something less than perfection (and perfect attendance), it is do-able. You need to have as much support as you possibly can, excellent reliable childcare, and lot of energy....at least that's what I can tell from my viewpoint.
How is your degree going??

Live, Love, Laugh

More
12 years 9 months ago #55791 by fit2survive