× Introductions & Connections

Reproductive Issues in 2003

More
16 years 8 months ago #55917 by amyk
CKT -

I really hadn't thought about taking a year off. I mean I'm 26 and I would like to be somewhat done with my training soon. And besides, I know myself...if I stop now and take a time out for babies it will be dfficult, emotionally to go back.

Girl, you sound truly torn, but you have so much time ahead. I'm not a doctor, but I understand commitment to work and having no time for family. If what you want in your heart of hearts is to have children now and be with them at least "normal working mom" hours while they're little -- and if you can afford this financially...

1. Talk it over with your husband, your mother, anyone else who'll be supportive. They can help shove you back into school after you've been out for a few years.

2. Talk to your advisors/mentors, and see if there are courses you can taking on the side while your children are small, to keep you from getting completely rusty and to follow interests you may not have had time for so far.

I don't think it's a great idea to try to do four people's worth of work at once, and that's what it sounds like you're setting up to do. To me, it looks like any crashing hurry you're in is self-imposed. Keep in mind how many women here are just getting started in their mid-30s.

I think DrMoo is right; there is this magazine fantasy of doing it all. Someone else here pointed out a while ago that the main problem is the unspoken "at the same time." For me, I can't see any sensible reason to kill myself and make my family nuts by living that way -- I want some chance of enjoying life as it goes. I don't think it's made me less ambitious or willing to work, either. Just adjusted my sense of what might be reasonable for me to accomplish in a lifetime. It's still a lot; life's long if you're used to working hard.

Just one more perspective for the pile --

amy