× MCAT & USMLE

Advice on preparing for the MCAT?

More
7 years 2 months ago #85801 by liebe2014
Can anyone offer me some advice on how best to study for the MCAT now that I have purchased study materials? Can anyone share their studying techniques and/or schedules?

Many thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 2 months ago - 7 years 2 months ago #85810 by lolaMD
My recommendations come from the way that I studied. There are lots of ways to prepare, but I feel really strongly that the study method I used can work for a lot of people. I am not a natural test taker (although I did become much better with the MANY, MANY tests in med school). I didn't do that great on my SAT's, and was worried about not doing well on the MCAT. However, following my MCAT preparation, I only had to take the test once, scored a 33, and got in to med school on the first round.

I took 4 months to study, while finishing junior year coursework during undergraduate. I had a very strict deadline to take the MCAT, and was very firm with myself on sticking with it. To help with my studying, I took an MCAT prep-course (Kaplan) because I was really concerned about procrastinating (this was the in-person class, not the online one). That semester, I had a very heavy course load, research, a part-time job, and 3 extracurriculars that I had to balance as well. It was a stressful time, but the Kaplan course really made studying manageable.