× MCAT & USMLE

MCAT Anxiety

More
6 years 1 month ago #90661 by Zephyrre
Hi everyone! I'm new to mommd...I joined after lurking the MCAT forums and realizing that discussions/advice here are much more open and less judgemental :grin:

Here's the situation:
As a BS/MD I have to get an 8 in each section of the MCAT. I took the MCAT in May and got 10-PS, 11-V and 6-BS and so I have to try again this September.

I just don't know how to feel about this test anymore! I feel like my confidence just got shattered because of the bio science section and I am scared to death about taking it again.

I'd like to hear from people who have taken the MCAT after getting a somewhat disappointing score...what did you do to overcome your apprehension (if any) towards the test or the sections you didn't do well? How do you block those negative thoughts that keep you from scoring better next time?

Sorry for the long post, but any and all input in welcome :D

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 1 month ago #90677 by mdstudent14
I remember being disappointed in my MCAT score, although I'm currently in my 3rd year in med school, so I guess it didn't really matter too much in the end. I never retook it or was in your situation, but I did have to retake a med school final (I was 8 weeks post-baby, I wasn't sleeping well, and bottom line was that I didn't put enough time into studying for it) and yes, I had a lot of anxiety about the retake, which I knew was going to be harder than the original (and in the end, it turned out just fine - I did great on it -- so I knew it wasn't a lack of knowledge but instead a lack of prep).