× Medical Specialties

Ob/Gyn vs Critical care

More
9 years 6 months ago #73918 by Maturin
I am a third year medical student and have thought for the past 2 and a half years that I am going to be a Pulmonary interventionalist and critical care doc, but I just completed my Ob rotation and am now completely confused. The problem I have with Ob is based on my interaction with current, but older Obs who are tired and burned out.vs new Obs who tell me that as a woman I can demand the hours I will work, I can do as much surgery or clinic as I want, I will make amazing salaries and I will be generally fulfilled if you love surgery and continuity of patients. I think that ob is appealing because it offers much of what I like about critical care, the rapid thinking and fast pace with the added ability to do surgery. I just would really appreciate some outside advice that is not coming from attendings and residents who want you to do what they are. Any and all advice would be helpful.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 6 months ago #73921 by Popcorn
This thread might give you some insight.

More
9 years 6 months ago #73924 by alkatz
It is funny, as I am starting my OB rotation and love it as well. I am told the same things as Maturin, that I CAN have good hours, etc. I will give it until the end of the rotation to decide. The only other thing I can see myself doing is EM. OB offers the same challenges that I love about EM. I am convinced that with Laborists the lifestyle WILL be better, it is just a matter of finding the right group and the right location.

Good luck to you!

The test of courage comes when we are in the minority. The test of tolerance comes when we are in the majority. - Ralph W. Sockman

More
9 years 6 months ago #73928 by asunshine