× Medical Specialties

Gonna be a mama, decision: heme/onc or stay IM?

More
7 years 10 months ago - 7 years 10 months ago #83094 by Jes
Hi all, great forum, first time poster. I just found out a week ago - that I am going to have a baby! It is our first and couldn't be more excited. :)) I am in my second year of IM residency and struggling now with what used to be a 100% sureness of wanting to be a doc in heme/onc.

After hearing the news of expecting - I have no idea what to do! I realize I need to let the news settle more but wondering, how doable is a heme/onc fellowship compared to just staying an IM attending?

I feel like I have given up so much to be where I am now that I know I want to be there for my children. I just need to hear from others their opinions.

Thanks!
Last Edit: 7 years 10 months ago by .

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 10 months ago #83095 by residentmom
I have a friend from med school who just completed her heme onc fellowship, and she had 2 children during the actual fellowship. Her husband was doing his own fellowship at the time, and they made it work. (I don't know the details of how!) So, I think motherhood should not in and of iself derail your life plans. But, maybe you deliver the baby and decide you would rather work part time for a few years, or go back to fellowship later, or whatever... and that's OK too. Most importantly, don't decide anything while you are all emotional. :)

ResidentMom<br /><br />"If you bungle raising your children, I don't think whatever else you do well matters very much." --Jackie O.

More
7 years 10 months ago #83111 by Emily2651
I'm an IM R3; I have two sons, a 3.5 YO and a new baby. I'm starting my renal fellowship more or less on track next summer.